Whenever you (as a passenger) book a Netlift ticket or a ride with a carpooler, the price of that ride will be authorized on your payment method (credit card). This will show up as a “pending” charge on your account.
This authorization hold will be captured (converted to a charge) once the trip has been completed.
If the booked ticket or ride is canceled for any reason, the authorization hold will immediately be canceled, and will disappear from your credit card statement soon afterwards. Depending on your institution's policy, it might take from a few hours to a few days for this to be reflected on your online statement.
Note that your bank will never ask you to pay the transactions that are still marked as pending on your statement, so you will only be charged the price of your rides once they are completed, not before.
This pre-authorization mechanism was implemented in order to more efficiently manage credit cards errors such as expired cards, insufficient funds, stolen cards, etc.
Each transaction, pre-authorized or captured, will indicate the date & time for which you booked a ride. Eg. "Netlift Apr-4 08:30" for abooked ride with a pickup at 8h30am on April 4.